poem for the day

June 24, 2009

Bright morningAs I opened the shutters this morning, I recalled this poem that I read many times…

With Every Breath

With every breath I take today,

I wow to be awake;

And every step I take,

I wow to take with a grateful heart–

So I may see with eyes of love

Into the hearts of all I meet,

To ease their burden when I can

And touch them with a smile of peace.

(author unknown to me)

These are my wishes for you on this cool but sunny Summer day.

Here is a quilt I made with so many various fabrics, all from Africa. As many fabrics as memories of people, friends, places, particular circumstances. One of my favourites because of all it evokes to me.

marchés africains 1“Marchés africains” (African markets)


3 Responses to “poem for the day”

  1. Carsten said

    —And you touched me..
    The first image with the curtain and the quilt on the floor is a poem itself..

    I like your blog!

  2. Karma said

    Wow! This quilt must have taken a very long time, with a very beautiful result.

    • Yes Karma, this quilt took a loooong time, especially for quilting. It was an interesting pattern, a logcabin but with an bigger center piece, like a sampler. It is a large bedspread.

Leave a comment