Christmas mood

December 25, 2015

Wishing you all a MERRY CHRISTMAS, moments of joy and peace, togetherness,  sharing the light and warmth of this special time of the year. Moments that I hope will last long after this day.

DSC01964.JPG

This is also a time when my parents are both very present around us. They both left days before and after Christmas. Here is the quilt I made in memory of my mother, gratitude and happy years together. Little pieces of materials that belonged to her or that she used a lot : pillow cases, towels, aprons, napkins, handkerchiefs, curtains, cushions, tablecloths. I felt good sewing it slowly, thinking of her and smiling.DSC01914

A crib in town. There were many of them, nicely built and decorated along the “Path of the Cribs”. I like this  one for the feeling of peace it conveys as well as togetherness, offering, sharing, realness.

DSC01940

These images are my gifts to you on this Christmas Day, dear visitors, friends  who happen to stop here today.

“I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year. I will live in the Past, the Present, and the Future. The Spirits of all Three shall strive within me. I will not shut out the lessons that they teach!” 

Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol

13 Responses to “Christmas mood”

  1. montucky said

    Thank you Isa. Merry Christmas!

  2. Beautiful memories of your mother. And a beautiful post with lovely photographs. I really like the top picture. Very pretty. The nativity scene is lovely too.

    Merry Christmas to you and yours, Isa.

    • Thank you, dear Yvonne. We had a lovely Christmas celebration with the family and today is quiet. A short walk to the woods, no snow yet and now is time for a cinnamon/orange tea. I hope you are doing well, Yvonne. I wish you the best of everything for 2016.

      • Here’s wishing the best for you as well, Isa. Do take care. Perhaps the snow will be coming soon. Our winter here is very mild and I think that it will continue in that vein. But we seldom get any snow and if we do it lasts for a day. That is fine with me though, for I’m not a fan of really cold weather.

  3. shoreacres said

    What delightful images for a cherished season. I hope your celebrations were peaceful and filled with you. Hard to imagine that we’re nearly ready for another year! I wish you all the best as it arrives!

    • Thank you for your good wishes, dear Linda. Yes, we had peaceful Christmas celebrations, tasty meals prepared by the younger generation and happy moments together. I also wish you the best for the new year to come and thank you for all you share with us all on your blog. I hope and look forward to reading more of you next year. Take care.

  4. Karma said

    A beautiful post Isa. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas.

  5. Giiid said

    Dear Isa. Since Christmas is over now, I will wish you happy holidays, and all the best to come. Thank you for this lovely and very personal post. The quilt you made with your mother in mind is such a beautiful idea, I can imagine how much it means to you.

    • Merci Giiid, yes this quilt means a lot. It is probably not finished, I will always add more stitches here and there or maybe another little piece of material belonging to her. Or fancy buttons she used to collect 🙂
      Have a wonderful New Year, thanks for your support always.

  6. sonali said

    Sending you love dear Isa. Complements of the season to you. I think I’m pretty close to where you are, this year in Germany! Christmas in Europe is wonderful! I’m so happy. The quilt you made is gorgeous!

  7. So nice to read you again, dear sonali, thank you. I am very happy you enjoy Christmas over here. Maybe will enjoy snow over the weekend too. Wishing you a very Happy New Year and the best of everything.

Leave a Reply

