A hint of Winter

November 1, 2010

It was around 5.30pm and  I was driving to town. The sun was highlighting the pasture and the cows, the last rays of a beautiful but chilly autumnal day. I just had to stop and take a picture of two Seasons that were overlapping. Snow had fallen on the Prealpes mountains and the sight was enchanting. Could it be that Winter is at the door ? A bit too soon for me…

“Winter is an etching,  Spring a watercolor,  Summer an oil painting and Autumn a mosaic of them all”.

Stanley Horowitz

22 Responses to “A hint of Winter”

  1. Carsten said

    It is a beautiful view.
    …Winter? No, no, not yet!

  2. It looks like it was a beautiful day. I love the snowy mountains in the distance.
    The quote is beautiful, too!

    (Your post title is VERY similar to what I have scheduled for tomorrow 🙂 )

  3. truels said

    A beautiful view over this landscape with fine contrasts between the warm colored field, cows and trees – and the cold mountains and sky.

  4. I know, me too! Seems that Fall was very short this year.

  5. Gerry said

    I think the cows have the right idea. Graze in the sunlight now. Soon enough it will be time to huddle together, tails to the wind, and dream winter dreams.

  6. Karma said

    J’aime les vaches. Je n’aime pas la neige mais j’aime votre photo!

  7. sartenada said

    Comment paisible paysage! La photo fait l’éloge de la beauté de la Suisse.

    Belle journèe.

  8. Winter doesn’t hint around upstate NY. It just shows up. 🙂 This is a lovely view and thanks for sharing.

  9. love your blog. this is a stunning photo

  10. Isa, just a note to let you know I have posted a new assignment I think you (and maybe some of your readers) would be interested in.

  11. Thanks Scott, I have just read the assignement on your blog, it sounds great and I will post a note about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

