My mother’s Christmas stars

December 18, 2009

December 17 would have been my mother’s birthday. This is one of the first quilts I sewed for her. A Christmas gift that she always kept close to her. She loved it. She left this world on December 22nd, six years ago and I like to think of her as the most brilliant star in the sky. Soft, luminous, always present.

This quilt is also  one of my first attempts at patchwork.  It is definitely not perfect but it carries a special meaning for me, especially during the Holiday Season. It is on one of my walls at home now and I see the sparkling smile of my mother.

A few more stars for your Christmas sky…

14 Responses to “My mother’s Christmas stars”

  1. Carsten said

    If the sky is clear tonight I’ll see if I your mothers star shines on our northern region.
    I like your patchwork. It’s worth keeping.

  2. arlijohn said

    What a beautiful story and quilt and especially what a great memory!

  3. So good to read your words, Carsten and arlijohn. It means a lot to me. thank you very much.

  4. All things nice.. said

    Isa,

    That quilt is so so beautiful, for one of your first attempts at quilting that is excellent. I’m sure your mother was very proud of you and she is watching down on you from the night sky 🙂
    I always think of the poem I got from my grandmother who passed away too, it is entitled
    “She is Just Away” and it goes;

    I cannot say- and I will not say
    That she is dead… she is just away!
    With a cheery smile and a wave of the hand
    She has wandered into an unknown land
    And left us dreaming how very fair
    It needs must be, since she lingers there,
    And you, O you, who the wildest yearn
    For the old- time step and the glad return
    Think of her faring on, as dear
    In the love of There, as the love of Here;
    Think of her still as the same, I say,
    She is not dead…she is just away.

    I always think of my grandmother in this way and it makes me happy to think of all the good memories just like your quilt brings back lots of lovely memories too.

    Sorry this comment is sooo long

    All things nice…. 🙂

  5. All things nice, how touching to share this lovely poem from your grandmother ! thank you so much for your thoughts. Many memories come back as I look at this quilt and also the gratefulness of having my mother close to me for many years. Time passes but her wonderful presence remains.

  6. ancientcloth said

    This is so touching to me. I lost my mother around 7 or so years ago and I only have a tablecloth I made her but, when I look at it I always see her smile.
    Thank you for sharing your beautiful words.

  7. quiltedthrifted said

    I just posted about my Grandmother and a soft quilt I have of hers. I then come here and see this beautiful quilt you made for your Mother and how wonderfully it is displayed with the ornaments adorning her. I too am thinking of the women in my life and I know their stars are shining high above. Best wishes to you and your family. Merry Christmas!

  8. Thank you ancientcloth and quiltedthrifted, your words are so welcome. It’s nice to know we share the same feelings about our mothers, grandmothers and that gratitude and love are expressed through quilting. I love this !

  9. giiid said

    Beautiful quilt and history behind.

  10. Thank you for your words and thoughts, giiid.

  11. iniyaal said

    Isa, the quilt is lovely. Your memories of it make it even moe beautiful. The greatest beauty of Arts and crafts are they leave behind memories that last for eternity.

  12. goodbear said

    a beautiful quilt and a beautiful comparison to a star!

  13. CarterQuilter said

    What a fabulous and delightful gift for your mom.
    I am sure she will treasure it always.

    You definitely have a great artistic flair for making quilts.

    Thanks for Sharing,
    Cindy Carter
    Quilt Patterns from Seattle

  14. Many thanks to you inyaal, goodbear and Carterquilter for your warm and encouraging comments. This quilt especially is precious to me. I appreciate your visits very much. All the Best to you in this New Year:)

Leave a Reply

