A blade of grass

October 14, 2009

Autumn leaf

A poem that came to mind this afternoon as I walked through the fields bordering the forest. Leaves were falling  over my face, swept away by a soft but freezing breeze. They touched the soil gently, without hardly any sound to my human ears but not so to the blade of grass…

“Said a blade of grass to an autumn leaf, “You make such a noise falling! You scatter all my winter dreams.”

Said the leaf indignant, “Low-born and low-dwelling! Songless, peevish thing! You live not in the upper air and you cannot tell the sound of singing.”

Then the autumn leaf lay down upon the earth and slept. And when spring came she waked again — and she was a blade of grass.

And when it was autumn and her winter sleep was upon her, and above her through all the air the leaves were falling, she muttered to herself, “O these autumn leaves! They make such a noise! They scatter all my winter dreams.”

K.Gibran

The Madman Chapter 30

2 Responses to “A blade of grass”

  1. giiid said

    I liked the photo as soon as I saw it, and when I read the nice words, I liked it even more. They are very fine together.
    Thank you for posting verse by K.Gibran, I used to have a book with some of his poems, I think I will look for it now.

  2. thepilgrimmage said

    lovely picture and beautiful words!
    It is fall here too!
    I was driving yesterday and before
    me was a large ring of leaves swirling in
    a circle on the ground with a tower coming
    from the center. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

